«I FELT ASHAMED THAT MY CHILD HAD AN ID BUT HER DAD HAD NO DOCUMENTS”

This is the story of Vazgen Assiryan, a Karabakh Armenian and a Soviet person, as he calls himself. He has been living in Moscow region for 30 years already, but it was not until recently that he became a Russian citizen. In 1986, he was drafted in the army in Ussuriysk, but it was not his fate to return to his home village in Nagorno-Karabakh after two years of military service: the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict began. This is how Vazgen became a stateless person. He tells in his monologue what effort it cost him to obtain a Russian passport.

«I FELT ASHAMED THAT MY CHILD HAD AN ID BUT HER DAD HAD NO DOCUMENTS”

Nagorno-Karabakh and military service in Ussuriysk

I am a Karabakh Armenian but I was born in Uzbekistan.

Here is how my fate began: in first grade, I lost my father. We lived in Uzbekistan back then, and my mother worked as a tailor. One year later mom got married again and sent me away to live with her father in Nagorno-Karabakh. When I started at a new school, the children were laughing because I could not speak Armenian, I did not know the letters, I made mistakes in word endings. I felt ashamed that I lost two years and ended up in first grade again.

Already in 9th grade, I received a draft card from the military commissariat. It was strict back then. By then, I had already completed a military course with the Volunteer Society for Cooperation with the Army, Aviation, and Navy and received my driving license, and in 1986, I got conscripted to serve with the border troops in Ussuriysk. There I graduated from school and also attended a hairdresser’s class. Once I completed the first year of service, the news arrived that Armenians were being forced out of Nagorno-Karabakh and Baku. I was offered residency in Vladivostok: perhaps my life would have turned out differently then, but I wanted to find my family. In 1988, I came to Moscow, signed up on the military register and received a Soviet passport. I thought the war would end and then I could return home. But the war was not ending. In Moscow, I got married to a Baku Armenian and we had a daughter together.

You help one and ten people hear about it

When I was released from the military, I was not a qualified worker, I only knew hairdressing. Those were difficult times. First I worked at VDNKH (an exhibition park in Moscow– translator’s note) as a docker, then I unloaded trucks in Biryulyovo (a district of Moscow – translator’s note). Then I unloaded cement, and then once I learned how to extort screws and fix plumbing, that’s when I became someone.

For five years I worked as a plumber for free instead of rent for a room temporarily given to us, and my wife provided for us. In Istra district, in Snegiri village, a private company built condominium housing in place of a brick factory that had gone bankrupt. They already installed heating and a water supply, and had tenants, but no one was in charge of the maintenance. or all those five years I handled that house for the sake of our family, so that we had somewhere to live – we were provided with a room on the first floor. The tenants knew me, they would throw requests in my mailbox: if the heating pipes were cold, I would climb to the attic, let the air out, I would help with the plumbing. People were used to me. But once the building was accepted for operation, I was no longer needed there. So, we had to move to Dedovsk. Our daughter would still take a local train to go to her old school in Snegiri for a few more years.

In Dedovsk, I learned how to work with power supply. There were no cell phones yet back then, so people would say, Vazgen lives there, go ask him. So, I fixed pipes and faucets for elderly ladies, replaced power supply utilities. Even these days it is still easier for elderly people to let someone they know come to their apartment. You tell them something, try to explain – and they just say, do it, son, I will pay you once I receive my pension. That’s how it works: you help one and ten people hear about it. This is how I have lived for all these years; I never borrowed money from anyone, but I have not become rich either.

Soviet passport discarded

It was the policemen who took away my Soviet passport. I was taking my daughter to school when a police car stopped me in Nakhabino. They took my passport as a deposit and sent me to get money in order to pay a fine. Yet they never returned my document to me, only a certificate that my Soviet passport was discarded.

This is how I became a stateless person, the only one in the family. My wife is a Azeri-Armenian, she had had a supplementary document of citizenship in her Soviet passport until 2001, and then they took it away and replaced it with a new standard Russian one. Our daughter was granted citizenship automatically based on her mother. I felt ashamed that my child has a passport and her dad has no documents, Sometimes in school, they would ask to bring copies of the parents’ documents. My daughter would say that dad didn’t have a passport yet but would soon receive one. This is how our life was.

A long tale

When I worked in Moscow, someone told me about a charity called «Civic Assistance» that help internally displaced persons. I can remember that there were a lot of Chechen refugees in the Committee back then, they made up a long line. I came to an appointment wearing my work clothes – I was received very well, my story was heard, Elena Yurievna Burtina has been helping me all this time. First, we were trying for a long time to get citizenship by proving my relation to my wife and my daughter, citizens of the Russian Federation. We wrote letters everywhere, we requested papers, we went to court, but nothing worked. Then we decided to try the other way: proving that I had lived in Russia up until 2002 without leaving. There is a law under which in such a case they must grant you citizenship.

This required 12 documents to be collected, it was not easy at all. Several times when I tried receiving certificates from my previous workplaces, it would turn out that an entity had changed, or a director was different, or that person had died, I would spend money on transport and return home with no result – I did not manage to obtain those papers. Sometimes I felt shy to go to people I had worked for. I was afraid that they would say “Vazgen, how old you have become, how much you have changed, are you really going to get a Russian passport?” In “Civic Assistance” I was provided with an attorney who started visiting me in Istra to help me to finally figure out my case.

A lot of time was spent on sending requests and waiting for responses that I had not received citizenship of another country, First I had to get such a certificate in the embassy of Uzbekistan. Then they told me I needed to prove I had not taken Armenian citizenship. In the Armenian embassy, they gave me a certificate with a mistake in my date of birth: it stated 30 July instead of 31 July. We had to get it corrected. Then we went on with an expert assessment of the documents in Moscow, then we drew up a personal record, autobiography and we also brought witnesses from Dedovsk. Finally, all the documents were ready, and in March this year, I was handed a certificate that my application for citizenship was under consideration.

We have been running around for such a long time and finally, justice was served. By this point, I thought I would not make it, I was simply tired. Each time for New Year I wished to receive my documents. And then suddenly everything turned around this year, and now they are chasing me. When I came to receive my passport, a lady told me: “There often are mistakes, look carefully, is everything correct?” I said, no mistakes, this is me – born in Uzbekistan, grew up in Nagorno-Karabakh, live in Russia. “How long your tale is”, she replied.

«I FELT ASHAMED THAT MY CHILD HAD AN ID BUT HER DAD HAD NO DOCUMENTS”

There are Armenians and Azerbaijanis who already received Russian citizenship a long time ago, bought apartments, cars in Russia, and then suddenly when they go to Armenia for a funeral of their father or mother, in the airport they are told that they are not on the database. And their passports are taken away. This is to say that someone made their documents and forgot to add them on to the common database. Just one tick – and a whole person’s life is scrapped. I was very afraid that the same would happen to me. But when I had my passport handed out, they turned the screen to me and showed: here you are, your photo, your passport series, on the database, you can go anywhere, you are not a stateless person anymore.

I would very much like to go to the place where I was born in Uzbekistan, see where my father is buried, Now I have such a chance. It is rare that people manage to prove they are right, And I managed to. Step by step. But of course, if not for the “Civic Assistance”, I would not have managed anything alone. No man is an island, as it goes.

Recorded by Lera Pavlova

Translated by Daria Gorbacheva

Мы помогаем беженцам и людям без гражданства

Ура! Мы с вами собрали 106 500 рублей

Нападение в «Магните»: продавец избила покупательницу

Эти деньги вылечили пострадавшую от рук сотрудницы Магнита.
Мы просим вас поддержать мигрантов и беженцев, чтобы мы
могли вовремя реагировать и спасать жизни семей.

×
Scroll Up

«Мне было стыдно, что у ребенка есть паспорт, а папа без документов»

Это история Вазгена Асирьяна — карабахского армянина и советского человека, как он себя называет. Он уже 30 лет живет с семьей в Подмосковье, но российским гражданином стал только сейчас. В 1986 году его забрали в армию в Уссурийск, но вернуться в родное село в Нагорном Карабахе после двух лет службы было не суждено — начался армяно-азербайджанский конфликт. Как Вазген стал лицом без гражданством и каких усилий ему стоило получить паспорт — в его монологе.

«Мне было стыдно, что у ребенка есть паспорт, а папа без документов»

Нагорный Карабах и служба в Уссурийске

Я карабахский армянин, но родился в Узбекистане.

Моя судьба так сложилась: в первом классе я потерял отца. Мы тогда жили в Узбекистане, мама работала портнихой. Через год мама снова вышла замуж и отправила меня к своему отцу в Нагорный Карабах. Когда я перешел в новую школу, дети смеялись: я не мог правильно говорить по-армянски, не знал букв, делал ошибки в окончаниях. Мне было стыдно, что я два года потерял и снова оказался в первом классе.

Уже в 9 классе мне пришла повестка из военкомата. Тогда же строго было. К тому моменту я окончил военный ДОСААФ и получил водительские права, и в 1986 году меня забрали служить в пограничных войсках в Уссурийске. Там я окончил школу и еще ходил на парикмахерские курсы. Когда я отслужил один год, пришли вести, что в Нагорном Карабахе и Баку выселяют армян. Мне предлагали остаться жить во Владивостоке — может быть, моя жизнь тогда сложилась бы иначе, но я хотел найти родных. В 1988 году я приехал в Москву, встал на воинский учет и получил советский паспорт. Думал, война закончится — вернусь домой. Но война не прекращалась. В Москве я женился на бакинской армянке, у нас родилась дочка.

Одному поможешь — десять человек знают

Когда я вернулся из армии, я ведь не был специалистом, знал только парикмахерское дело. Это были трудные времена. Сначала на ВДНХ грузчиком работал, потом в Бирюлево машины разгружал. Потом цемент разгружал, а когда уже научился шурупы тянуть и сантехнику чинить, тогда уже стал человеком.

Пять лет я бесплатно работал сантехником за комнату, а жена зарабатывала. В Истринском районе в поселке Снегири частные собственники построили шестиэтажный кооперативный дом на месте обанкротившегося кирпичного завода. Запустили и отопление, и воду, жильцы уже были, но у них никто не брал дом на обслуживание. И все пять лет я без перерыва обслуживал этот дом ради семьи, чтобы было где жить — нам выделили комнату на первом этаже. Жильцы меня знали, кидали свои заявки в почтовый ящик: если батарея была холодная, я поднимался на чердак, спускал воздух, помогал с сантехникой. Люди ко мне привыкли. А когда дом приняли в эксплуатацию, я оказался не нужен. И нам пришлось переехать в Дедовск. Дочка еще несколько лет ездила на электричке в свою старую школу в Снегирях.

В Дедовске я научился работать с электрикой. Тогда еще не было сотовых телефонов, люди говорили, что вот там живет Вазген, идите к нему. Так я бабушкам чинил трубы и краны, электрику менял. И сейчас пожилым людям проще, когда в квартиру приходит знакомый человек. Им говоришь, объясняешь, а они — делай сынок, я заплачу, когда пенсию получу. И вот таким образом: одному поможешь — десять человек знают. Так все эти годы жил: в долг ни у кого денег не брал, но и богатым не стал.

Советский паспорт утилизирован

Советский паспорт у меня отобрали милиционеры. Я вез дочку в школу, когда меня остановила милицейская машина в Нахабино. Паспорт взяли в залог, а меня отправили за деньгами оплатить штраф. Но документы так и не отдали, только справку о том, что мой советский паспорт был утилизирован.

Так я оказался лицом без гражданства, единственный в семье. Моя жена — бакинская армянка, у нее до 2001 года был вкладыш о гражданстве в советском паспорте, а потом его забрали и заменили на российский нового образца. Дочка автоматически по матери получила гражданство. Мне было стыдно, что у ребенка есть паспорт, а папа без документов. Иногда в школе просили копии документов родителей. Дочка говорила, что у папы пока нет паспорта, скоро получит. Вот такая жизнь была.

Длинная сказка

Когда я работал в Москве, мне рассказали о благотворительной организации «Гражданское содействие», которая помогает вынужденным переселенцам. Помню, тогда в Комитете было много чеченских беженцев, из них выстраивалась длинная очередь. Я пришел на прием в рабочей одежде — меня очень хорошо приняли, выслушали мою историю. Елена Юрьевна Буртина все это время мне помогала. Сначала долго добивались гражданства через доказательство родства с женой и дочкой — гражданами РФ. Писали везде письма, запрашивали бумаги, дошли до суда, но ничего. Тогда решили другим путем пойти — доказать, что я жил в России до 2002 года, не выезжая. Есть закон, по которому в таком случае должны дать гражданство.

Для этого нужно было собрать 12 документов. Это было совсем не просто. Несколько раз, когда я пытался получить справки с предыдущих мест работы, оказывалось, что организация изменилась, или директор уже не тот, или этот человек умер. Тратил деньги на дорогу и без ничего впустую возвращался домой — эти бумаги получить не удалось. Иногда я стеснялся идти к людям, у которых работал. Стеснялся, что они скажут: «Как ты, Вазген, постарел, как изменился, неужели ты получишь российский паспорт». В «Гражданском содействии» мне дали адвоката, который стал ездить ко мне в Истру, чтобы помочь разобраться уже, наконец, с моим делом.

Много времени ушло на то, чтобы отправлять запросы и ожидать ответы, что я не получал гражданство другой страны. Сначала пришлось получить такую справку в посольстве Узбекистана. Потом мне сказали, что надо доказать, что я не брал гражданство Армении. В армянском посольстве дали справку с ошибкой в дате рождения: вместо 31 июля было указано 30 июля. Пришлось исправлять. Затем делали экспертизу всех документов в Москве, потом составили характеристику, автобиографию, привозили свидетелей из Дедовска. И вот все документы были готовы, и в марте этого года мне выдали удостоверение о рассмотрении заявления на гражданство.

Мы столько бегали и все-таки добились справедливости. Я уже думал, что не смогу, устал просто. Каждый раз в Новый год загадывал получить документы. И вдруг все развернулось в этом году, и уже за мной стали бегать. Когда я пришел получать паспорт, мне женщина говорит: «Часто бывают ошибки, внимательно посмотри, все ли верно?» Нет ошибки, говорю, это я — родился в Узбекистане, вырос в Нагорном Карабахе, а живу в России. Длинная у тебя сказка, отвечает.

«Мне было стыдно, что у ребенка есть паспорт, а папа без документов»

Есть армяне и азербайджанцы, которые давно получили российское гражданство, купили и квартиры, и машины в России, и вдруг когда они едут в Армению на похороны отца или матери, в аэропорту им говорят, что их нет в базе данных. И отбирают паспорта. То есть кто-то, кто оформлял их документы, забыл добавить данные в общую базу. Одна галочка — а у человека вся жизнь перечеркивается. Я очень боялся, вдруг со мной то же самое произойдет. Но мне, когда паспорт давали, монитор повернули и показали: вот ты, твоя фотография, серия твоего паспорта — в базе есть, куда хочешь иди, ты теперь не лицо без гражданства.

Мне очень бы хотелось съездить в то место, где я родился в Узбекистане, увидеть, где родной отец похоронен. Сейчас у меня есть такая возможность. Такое редко бывает, что людям удается доказать свою правоту. А мне удалось. Ступенька за ступенькой. Но, конечно, если бы не «Гражданское содействие», я один ничего не смог бы сделать. Один человек в поле не воин, как говорится.

Записала Лера Павлова

Мы помогаем беженцам и людям без гражданства

Ура! Мы с вами собрали 106 500 рублей

Нападение в «Магните»: продавец избила покупательницу

Эти деньги вылечили пострадавшую от рук сотрудницы Магнита.
Мы просим вас поддержать мигрантов и беженцев, чтобы мы
могли вовремя реагировать и спасать жизни семей.

×
Scroll Up